Fenton Michigan News!

       Bookmark & Share  

Fenton Community Orchestra Appoints First Executive Director, Elects Three New Board Officers

Jennifer Fleck 
February 2, 2015

CONTACT: Jennifer Fleck
(810) 210 - 6300

FENTON, MI – The Fenton Community Orchestra (FCO) Board of Directors is pleased to announce the appointment of Jennifer Fleck as its first Executive Director. The position of Executive Director was created in part with 1:1 matching funds from the State of Michigan Council for Arts and Cultural Affairs and the National Endowment for the Arts.

“Five years ago our goal was to find enough musicians so we could play in an orchestra,” said Fleck.

“What we have developed has surpassed all expectations. Our community has welcomed, supported, and is joining us in our journey to help amateur musicians of all ages perform in a symphony and our community members to enjoy fine music free of charge. I am honored and thrilled to be able to work with FCO as our first Executive Director.”

Prior to her appointment, Ms. Fleck served as the FCO Treasurer, President, and Director since co-
founding FCO with Lisa Bayer and current Board Secretary Kirstin Tenser, in 2010. Ms. Fleck’s accomplishments as board president included growing the orchestra from 25 to over 75 musicians, hiring Andrew Perkins as Music Director and developing a ‘music in our schools’ program. She was also recently recognized by the Fenton Education Foundation and received The State Bank Community Contribution to Education Award for her work with FCO and Fenton High School Music Program.

The FCO Board of Directors also elected three board officers during a special meeting on Tuesday, January 27th. John Andersen was elected as President of the Board, Eric Szczepanski as Vice President of the Board, and Colin Campbell as Board Treasurer.

Commenting on his appointment, Andersen said, “I’m honored to lead the FCO board during this exciting time as we celebrate five seasons of music in the community. I look forward to working with the board, Jennifer, and Andrew Perkins to build on the progress made under their leadership to further strengthen our organization for the future.”

“It’s a privilege to work with such a dedicated group of volunteers,” added Szczepanski. “Building partnerships in the community while enhancing the performing arts experience for our members and audience is our top priority.”

Current members of the FCO board are John Andersen, Eric Szczepanski, Kirstin Tesner, Colin Campbell, Bob McLuckie, Patrick Perfitt, Mike Tesner, Stephen Martin and Brian Churchill.

The Fenton Community Orchestra is a multi-generational orchestra that provides a place for musicians of all ages to connect through music by offering an educational and entertaining music program for its members and audiences. The board meets every second Tuesday of the month at 7pm and the

Orchestra rehearses in the Fenton High School Band Room every Thursday night 6:30-8:30pm.

For more information visit www.fentoncommunityorchestra.org, www.facebook.com/FentonCommunityOrchestra, and twitter.com/FentonOrchestra.
Fenton Community Orchestra Appoints First Executive Director, Elects Three New Board Officers
 © 2010 - 2018   Fenton City Hall Design by: New Moon Visions Brand Development and Marketing ~ Site by: AccuNet Web Service